Team India Secures Victory Against Rival Pakistan Amid Debate, Bewilderment - plus Bug Infestation
Pakistan Shows Dissatisfaction As Match Official Controversially Alters Running Out Verdict
ICC Women's World Cup, Colombo
Indian Total 247 (50 overs): Harleen Deol 46 (65 balls); Diana Baig 4-69
Pakistani Total 159 (Forty-three overs): Sidra Amin 81 (106 balls); Goud 3-20
Indian side triumphed by 88 runs
The Indian side continued their flawless opening during the championship with a comfortable eighty-eight run triumph over rivals Pakistan in Sri Lanka.
Harleen Deol top-scored scoring 46 as Richa Ghosh hammered a not-out 35 off 20 deliveries late on to propel the Indian score to 247 runs throughout their knock that saw several hitters make starts but fail to kick on.
Seamer Diana Baig took four wickets for 69 as the Pakistani attack bowled out the Indian team for the first time in a women's ODI from the last ball of the innings however a maiden victory remained beyond their reach.
After slipping to 26-3 during their pursuit, The Pakistani side temporarily recovered as Sidra Amin - who went on to make 81 in 105-ball innings following being given reprieves three times - and Natalia Pervaiz together compiled 69 during their fourth-wicket stand.
However India, led by Kranti Goud's 3-20, maintained their focus to dismiss Pakistan scoring 159 in the 43rd over and climb to the top in the group standings.
As typically happens during India-Pakistan encounters, though, there was far more to it, with controversy and confusion sprinkled during the day...
Dismissal Debate
Probably the most significant discussion point emerged from a occurrence early in the Pakistani batting when the opening player Muneeba was debatably given out running.
The left-handed batter got hit on the leg guard from Goud and as the Indian bowler appealed without success for leg before wicket, Deepti Sharma gathered the stray ball and threw at the stumps.
She struck yet footage demonstrated Muneeba had grounded her willow before the ball was even in the picture and an 'not out' ruling from the third umpire Klaaste was displayed on the large screen in the venue.
Nonetheless, prior to play resuming, the verdict was re-examined and it emerged that while the ball made contact with the stumps and dislodged the bails, Muneeba had raised her equipment and was still stood outside her crease.
Even though the hitter had earlier embedded her bat and didn't endeavor to steal a run, the match referee altered her ruling to 'given out' and notwithstanding Pakistani objections, which saw skipper Fatima Sana tell her batter to remain on the field briefly, the batter had to exit.
Adding another layer, should India have referred the lbw decision, the complete debate might have been averted since ball-tracking indicated Muneeba was plumb lbw.
What do the laws of cricket state?
30.1 When out of his/her ground
Section 30.1.1 A batter shall be considered as having left their crease except when some portion of his/her person or bat is positioned behind the popping crease at that end.
Rule 30.1.2 However, a player shall not be deemed as having left their crease when, during running or diving toward their ground and beyond, and after placing a portion of the player or equipment beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of touch between the surface and any portion of the player or equipment, or between equipment and player.
'Tails becomes heads call'
Uncertainty when Pakistan incorrectly awarded coin toss versus India
It should have been clear that events would not become straightforward in this game right from the toss.
Amid a context of governmental disputes involving both countries, that leaders Sana and Kaur avoided handshakes was expected - especially given the established pattern in recent games involving the male teams.
Nonetheless, nobody could have foreseen that Sana would call wrongly yet win the toss.
The Pakistan skipper shouted "tails" as Harmanpreet flicked the coin but match referee Fritz misunderstood and stated "heads chosen".
Commentator and ex-Australian player Mel Jones was overseeing the toss and reiterated Fritz's words, the coin fell heads up and the announcement came that Pakistan secured the coin toss.
No skipper challenged it therefore the captain managed to advance and verify that Pakistan would bowl first.
An innocent mistake and considering India's victory anyway, no harm done.
Insects halt match
'Who you gonna call?' - 'Bugbuster' arrives when insects halt game
Amidst {the toss confusion|the coin flip confusion|the toss